Is it Easy Being Green?

My daily adventures in attempting an environmentally-friendly lifestyle

A new way to print January 16, 2010

Filed under: reducing waste — isgreeneasy @ 3:48 pm
Tags: ,


Still obsessing on reducing waste, I’m trying out the suggestion from the No Impact Experiment of downloading a program called “Green Print“. After watching the video tutorial, I learned that after you download Green Print and select it as your printer when printing a document, it will enable you to remove images and/or text from your document before actually printing it out. This seems especially useful when printing from the Internet; I don’t know how many times I’ve printed and ended up with way more pages because of unrelated images I didn’t want (no, I do not want the latest IPhone app, and no thank you, I do not need the unbelievable weight loss miracle), or ended up with the last page having two lines of text that I didn’t need anyway (thank you, Craigslist). I’ve often copied and pasted text into a Word document to avoid these annoyances, but that can be a pain and can create some new formatting problems to deal with, so it’s not the perfect solution.

I’ve tried Green Print out once (the free version) and I think it’ll come in handy. One cool thing is that Green Print keeps a tally for you of how much money and greenhouse gases you’ve saved by reducing the number of pages you print. It’s a small thing, but over time may really make more of a difference than I realize.

 

2 Responses to “A new way to print”

  1. Margaret Says:

    What a good idea. I have also been dismayed at all of the extra stuff that I get when I print off of the internet. I will give this a try. Thanks for the info.

  2. isgreeneasy Says:

    Margaret–Sure! Let me know how it works for you.


Leave a comment